New Year's Resolutions of the Genki Women of Keiro

It’s now two weeks into the new year, and I wonder how we are all doing with our New Year’s resolutions?  I know that my resolution to get seven or eight hours of sleep each night has not happened, because of a combination of late meetings and the temptation to watch yet another program on HGTV or the Food Network.

I know that I’m not unusual in that roughly one in three Americans make resolutions to better themselves in some way.  About 75% of us stick to our goals for at least a week, and less than half are still on target six months later.

To help make resolutions stick, the goals should be SMART – Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely.

  • Specific:  The goal should answer the questions – Who? What? Where? When? Why?  Instead of setting a goal “to lose weight”, reframe the resolution “to exercise three days a week.”
  • Measureable: Again, a goal of losing weight is not measureable, but a goal to lose five pounds in three months is.
  • Attainable: Do you have the resources to actually attain the goal? To have a goal to take an Alaska cruise is not attainable if you don’t have the money to pay for it.
  • Realistic: Given your current life circumstances or physical health, is the goal realistic?  You may resolve to run a marathon in 2011, but if you have knee problems, going from a couch potato to a marathon runner in one year may not be realistic.
  • Timely: Defining a time gives you a sense of urgency and helps you set your priorities.  If you want lose weight, define how many pounds and a target date, like three pounds by Valentine’s Day.

The Genki Women of Keiro have made New Year’s resolutions.  Here is a sampling:

Yumi Yuge

Yumi Yuge

Yumi Yuge, Activity Manager, Keiro Intermediate Care Facility

I have many, but the one I’d like to share with you is that I want to spend more time with loved ones no matter how far they live which is why I’m flying out to New York tomorrow…. to spend time with my 3 beautiful princesses, I mean nieces (14, 12, 8 soon to be 15, 13, 8) because you know how fast they grow up and how fast things change.  And it doesn’t matter that it’s going to snow on Friday and Saturday and that the high is going to be 34 degrees while I’m there.  Okay, gotta go start packing some warm clothes.

Ethel Kamiyama

Ethel Kamiyama

Ethel Kamiyama, Resident, Keiro Retirement Home

Keep on doing Japanese dance and hula as exercise, as ordered by my doctor.

Mary Hatate

Mary Hatate

Mary Hatate, Volunteer, Keiro Retirement Home

Be nice to everyone.

Kimberly Hayashi

Kimberly Hayashi

Kimberly Hayashi, Community Resources Manager, The Institute for Healthy Aging at Keiro

If there was one thing that I want to focus on this year it is maintaining my work/life balance…but that includes getting enough sleep, too.  A lot of times I sacrifice that for continuing the social life.

Beverly Ito

Beverly Ito

Beverly Ito, Administrator, Keiro Intermediate Care Facility / Chief Compliance Officer

I am trying to eat a healthier breakfast every day (cookies and donuts don’t count as breakfast anymore) and to keep up running every morning.

Iku Kiriyama

Iku Kiriyama

Iku Kiriyama, Keiro Volunteer and Supporter

I hope to be more serious about being more physical…at least walking around the block!

Jean Hsi-Yin

Jean Hsi-Yin

Jean Hsi-Yin, Information Technology Consultant for Keiro

I always set a resolution to lose weight by a number of pounds. This year, I am going with something more specific – eat dinner by 6 PM, eat only one bowl of rice at dinner, don’t eat my children’s left-overs and walk as often as I can.  I will let you know how many pounds I lost by the end of year.

Linda Aratani

Linda Aratani

Linda Aratani, Keiro Rehabilitation Provider and Keiro Supporter

Play more computer games to improve my mind.

Play games when I get together with my girlfriends to improve all our minds.

Plant more succulents…good for the environment.

Buy a hybrid car this year.

Audrey Lee-Sung

Audrey Lee-Sung

Audrey Lee-Sung, Director, Resource Development, Keiro Senior HealthCare

I plan to take my calcium.  I have a bottle in my office and a bottle at home.

Rumi Nakatani

Rumi Nakatani

Rumi Nakatani, IHA Advisory Council Chair

I have not made a statement, “I resolve…..” but there are a couple of things I want to put in place.

One is to meditate every day.  According to articles I’ve read, meditation is one of three overall training methods which can change brain structure and function.  The training has shown success in enhancing mental agility and attention so that brain processes are more efficient…..the quality associated with higher intelligence.  I can certainly use more intelligence.  A program at the University of Miami calls it the mindfulness-based mind-fitness training.

The other is to be kinder.  Aldous Huxley has said that the most effective way of transforming your life is to be a little kinder.  He says kindness is the foundation of a good heart and with a good heart, a good life will follow.

Terry Nakawatase

Terry Nakawatase

Terry Nakawatase, Volunteer, The Institute for Healthy Aging at Keiro

“To “LISTEN” will be my focus…GRATITUDE my motivation.”

Remind myself daily, that although this self is truly “impossible” (tsumaranai) – in fact because this is so, I am continually embraced in compassion.

It’s not too late to follow the examples of the Genki Women of Keiro and take charge of yourself for the new year.  Happy New Year to all!

Leave a Reply

